Final TailFinal Tail

Report · United States · 2026

The State of Pet Aftercare in the US (2026)

Final Tail reviewed the first-party websites of 909 US pet cremation and aftercare providers to answer one question: before a family picks up the phone, what can they actually find out about price?

The answer is the report’s central finding. 738 of the 909 providers reviewed (81%) published no discoverable pricing signal — no starting price, no pricing note, no pricing page. Only 140 published a starting price.

909 providers · 50 states · first-party website research · last checked 17–30 July 2026

Final Tail Report

Original data

909

Providers reviewed

50

States represented

81%

No pricing signal found

15%

Publish a starting price

What this report measures

Pricing transparencyPublished starting pricesWhat providers discloseDirectory coverageResearch confidenceCapture bias

A first-party research dataset, not a census of the US market. No service-availability rates, no state rankings and no national average price.

Key findings · for media

Six findings, quote-ready

Concise, citeable statements, each one computed from Final Tail's US provider dataset. Copy a finding verbatim, then see how to cite the report at the end.

How to cite this report
  • 81%

    81% of the 909 US pet aftercare providers Final Tail reviewed (738 of 909) published no discoverable pricing signal on their own website — no starting price, no pricing note and no pricing page.

    Why it matters Families comparing providers at the hardest possible moment usually have to call before they can compare anything at all.

  • 15%

    Only 140 of 909 providers reviewed (15%) published a structured starting price, and a further 31 published pricing details or a pricing-page link without one.

    Why it matters A pricing page is not the same as a figure you can compare, and both are rarer than families expect.

  • 38% vs 15%

    Using the same measure across two Final Tail datasets, 83 of 218 UK providers (38%) published a starting price, against 140 of 909 US providers (15%).

    Why it matters Online price disclosure is a market habit, not a law of the sector — one dataset shows it happening far more often than the other.

  • $20–$470

    Among the 140 providers that published a parsable starting price, across 50 states, published figures ran from $20 to $470, with a median of $115. These are published starting prices, not directly comparable quotes.

    Why it matters The spread shows why a single published figure tells a family very little without knowing what it includes.

  • 909

    Final Tail's US directory holds 909 pet aftercare providers across 50 states and 748 listed cities, each with at least one first-party source URL, last checked 17–30 July 2026.

    Why it matters It is a first-party research dataset rather than a scraped aggregate, which is what makes the disclosure findings meaningful.

  • 53%

    Every one of the 909 providers reviewed has a website and 890 list a phone number, but only 483 (53%) publish an email address.

    Why it matters Families who cannot face a phone call have far fewer ways to ask a first question in writing.

Every figure describes the 909 providers in Final Tail’s US directory — not the whole US market. See the methodology for definitions and what the dataset cannot tell us.

Executive summary

What we studied, and what it can and cannot show

A careful read of what US pet aftercare providers publish about price, and an equally careful account of the questions this dataset is not able to answer.

Pet cremation is bought under real pressure: it is emotional, time-limited, rarely researched in advance, and almost never compared calmly. Final Tail reviewed the first-party websites of 909 US pet cremation and aftercare providers across 50 states to record what each one actually publishes.

Pricing transparency is the central finding because it is the one thing a website review can measure directly. Either a price signal is discoverable on the provider’s own site, or it is not. 738 of 909 providers reviewed (81%) published nothing about price that we could find. 140 published a structured starting price, 14 published pricing details without one, and 17 linked to a pricing page without either.

What this report deliberately does not measure is how common a service is. Most service fields in this dataset are positive-signal capture fields: a positive value means evidence was found, while a blank one may mean the provider does not offer it, does not state it, or that it was not captured. Unknown does not mean no — so no service-availability percentage appears anywhere in this report, and the confidence exhibit shows the computed evidence for why.

For families, the practical takeaway is small and useful: expect to ask, and ask for a written, itemized price. For journalists and researchers, every figure below is reproducible from the same dataset, with the method and its limits set out in full.

909

providers reviewed

81%

no pricing signal found

140

publish a starting price

Key findings

Six numbers that frame the report

Each figure is a real count from the providers reviewed. Percentages are shares of Final Tail's US directory, and an absent value is never counted as a No — only as not stated.

909

Providers reviewed

Every listing in Final Tail's US directory, across 50 states and 748 listed cities.

Key gap

81%

No discoverable pricing signal found

738 of 909 providers published nothing about price we could find on their own website.

15%

Publishes a starting price

140 providers publish a structured starting figure; 171 give some pricing signal.

Key gap

23 pts

Gap to the UK dataset

38% of 218 UK providers publish a starting price, against 15% of 909 here.

50

States represented

Counts in Final Tail's directory, not estimates of market size. District of Columbia has no provider currently indexed.

100%

First-party sourced

Every record carries at least one source URL from the provider's own website. 483 publish an email address.

One pattern does most of the work. Published price information is the exception, not the norm, in this dataset — and the same measure applied to Final Tail’s UK dataset comes out 23 percentage points higher, which is why the gap is worth reporting at all. The sections below set out each finding with its exhibit.

Exhibit 1 · Pricing transparency

Most providers reviewed publish nothing about price

Every one of the 909 providers reviewed sits in exactly one of four categories, by the strongest pricing signal found on its own website. The four categories are exhaustive and do not overlap, so they sum to the provider total.

How many US pet cremation providers publish prices online?

In Final Tail’s US directory, 140 of 909 providers (15%) publish a structured starting price, 14 publish pricing details without one, and 17 link to a pricing page without either. The remaining 738 (81%) have no discoverable pricing signal. That is a finding about what is published, not a claim that those providers charge nothing or refuse to quote.

Exhibit 1

How US providers publish pricing

Each provider placed in exactly one category, by the strongest pricing signal found.

81%
15%
  • No discoverable pricing signal found 738 (81%)Nothing about price was discoverable on the provider's own website.
  • Publishes a starting price 140 (15%)A published starting figure you can see before calling.
  • Links to pricing information 17 (2%)A pricing page exists, but no starting price or pricing note was captured.
  • Publishes pricing details 14 (2%)Pricing detail is published — add-ons or a price list — without a starting figure.

Final Tail US provider dataset · n = 909 providers in Final Tail's directory · last checked 17–30 July 2026. Counts are what providers publish on their own websites; an absent value is never counted as a No. Categories are mutually exclusive and exhaustive: 140 + 14 + 17 + 738 = 909.

The four categories use one precedence rule: a structured starting price wins; failing that, meaningful pricing notes; failing that, a pricing-page link; otherwise, no discoverable pricing signal. 98 providers carry a pricing-page URL in total, but most of those also publish a figure or a note, which is why only 17 sit in the link-only category.

It is worth being precise about what this does and does not say. “No discoverable pricing signal found” means exactly that: nothing about price was discoverable on the provider’s own website during the review. It is not evidence that the provider is expensive, or unwilling to quote. Pricing genuinely depends on pet size, cremation type, pickup and memorial choices, and many providers prefer to quote per case.

Want the figures providers do publish, state by state? The US cost hub carries every published starting price we have, with no invented averages.

Exhibit 2 · Published starting prices

Published starting prices found on provider websites

The 140 providers that publish a parsable starting price, across 50 states. These are the figures providers chose to put online — not directly comparable quotes, and not the cost of pet cremation in the US.

Exhibit 2

Distribution of published starting prices

Quartiles of the published starting prices in Final Tail's US directory.

Published starting prices among the 140 US providers in Final Tail’s directory that publish a parsable starting price
Sample sizeStates representedLowest publishedLower quartileMedianUpper quartileHighest published
140of 909 providers50in the price sample$20starting price$7525th percentile$11550th percentile$18575th percentile$470starting price
Lowest published$20
Lower quartile$75
Median$115
Upper quartile$185
Highest published$470

Final Tail US provider dataset · n = 909 providers in Final Tail's directory · last checked 17–30 July 2026. Counts are what providers publish on their own websites; an absent value is never counted as a No. Quartiles use the nearest-rank lower convention, so every figure shown is a price a provider actually published. Sample: 140 of 909 providers, in 50 states.

Read this exhibit as a picture of what gets published, not of what families pay. The sample covers only the 140 providers that publish a parsable starting price — a little over one in ten of the directory — so it is not representative of the other 769.

Nor are the figures like for like. A published starting price is a floor, and providers set it against different things: the smallest pet, the communal option, a cremation-only package before pickup, an urn or a larger weight band. Published starting prices are not directly comparable quotes, which is why this report calculates no average.

No average US pet cremation cost

A mean across 140 self-selected published figures, with different inclusions and no weighting, would look authoritative and mean very little. The quartiles above describe the sample; nothing here describes the country.

Exhibit 3 · US and UK disclosure

The same measure, two Final Tail datasets

One directly comparable measure — the share of providers publishing a structured starting price — computed with identical logic over each country's dataset. Neither dataset is a census, and no prices are compared.

Exhibit 3

Share publishing a structured starting price

Identical field logic applied to each country's published Final Tail dataset.

Providers publishing a structured starting price, US compared with the UK
DatasetPublishes a starting priceProvidersShare
United States14090915%
United Kingdom8321838%
United States140 of 90915%
United Kingdom83 of 21838%

Final Tail US dataset (n = 909) and UK dataset (n = 218). Both are research samples collected by reviewing providers' own websites; neither is a national census. This compares online disclosure only — not prices, service quality or value.

Do UK providers publish prices more often than US providers?

In Final Tail’s two datasets, yes. 83 of 218 UK providers (38%) publish a structured starting price, against 140 of 909 US providers (15%) — a gap of 23 percentage points on the same measure. Both are research samples of their markets, not complete national registers, so this compares online disclosure habits rather than either market as a whole.

What is and is not being compared

  • Same method. Both datasets were built by reading providers’ own websites and recording what is published there.
  • Same field logic. A structured starting price is the same test in both: a published starting figure on the record.
  • Different sizes. The datasets differ in scale (909 and 218) and in how each market was researched, so the gap is indicative, not a precise national measurement.
  • Not compared: prices, service prevalence, state or regional coverage, provider density, operational quality or value for money.
Read the UK report

Exhibit 4 · Public disclosure

What providers state publicly, and what they leave unsaid

This section measures what Final Tail found stated publicly, not what providers necessarily offer. Every field is shown three ways — states yes, states no, not stated — so an absent value is never read as an absent service.

Read these as disclosure, not availability. A provider in the “not stated” band has not told us it lacks the service. It may offer it and not mention it, mention it somewhere the review did not reach, or not offer it. Because those three cases are indistinguishable here, no availability rate is published.

Exhibit 4

Service disclosure across the dataset

Six decisions families actually make, shown as a three-way disclosure shape.

  • Private or individual cremation580 stated yes · 0 stated no · 329 not stated

    The option that returns your own pet's ashes.

  • Communal cremation365 stated yes · 20 stated no · 524 not stated

    The shared option, which generally returns no ashes.

  • Ashes returned584 stated yes · 0 stated no · 325 not stated

    Follows from choosing a private cremation, not from the provider alone.

  • Home pickup330 stated yes · 1 stated no · 578 not stated

    Collection from your home, usually for a distance-based fee.

  • Veterinarian pickup283 stated yes · 0 stated no · 626 not stated

    Collection from a veterinary practice, often arranged by the clinic.

  • Memorial products691 stated yes · 0 stated no · 218 not stated

    Urns, paw prints, keepsakes and jewelry, almost always charged separately.

  • Publicly states yes
  • Publicly states no
  • Not stated in Final Tail's source review

Final Tail US provider dataset · n = 909 providers in Final Tail's directory · last checked 17–30 July 2026. Counts are what providers publish on their own websites; an absent value is never counted as a No. Each bar sums to 909. "Not stated" is the residual: neither a yes nor a no was captured.

Species disclosure

  • Dogs345 stated yes · 0 stated no · 564 not stated
  • Cats341 stated yes · 0 stated no · 568 not stated
  • Small pets120 stated yes · 0 stated no · 789 not stated
  • Horses and large animals92 stated yes · 9 stated no · 808 not stated
  • Publicly states yes
  • Publicly states no
  • Not stated in Final Tail's source review

Species were captured far less consistently than the service fields, which is why this report publishes no “serves dogs” or “serves cats” rate. Nearly every pet crematory handles dogs and cats; the numbers here measure how often that is written down, and nothing more.

Where a “states no” band is genuinely small

Only communal cremation carries a meaningful number of explicit “no” records (20 of 909), where a provider states plainly that it offers private cremation only. Everywhere else the negative band is close to zero — which is exactly why the residual has to be labelled “not stated” and not “does not offer”.

Exhibit 5 · Coverage

Where the providers in this directory are listed

A coverage table, ordered by provider count for readability. These are counts in Final Tail's directory, not estimates of total market size — no state is ranked, scored or compared on value.

Exhibit 5

States with the most listings

The twelve states with the most providers in Final Tail's US directory.

Texas12 with a pricing signal72
California4 with a pricing signal67
Ohio5 with a pricing signal51
North Carolina5 with a pricing signal41
Florida8 with a pricing signal38
Pennsylvania2 with a pricing signal38
Illinois5 with a pricing signal32
Michigan6 with a pricing signal32
New York4 with a pricing signal32
Georgia4 with a pricing signal30
Arizona4 with a pricing signal24
Tennessee4 with a pricing signal24

Final Tail US provider dataset · n = 909 providers in Final Tail's directory · last checked 17–30 July 2026. Counts are what providers publish on their own websites; an absent value is never counted as a No. A large count reflects Final Tail's research coverage as much as the state itself, so this is not a measure of market size.

Which states have the most pet cremation providers?

This report cannot answer that. It can say which states have the most providers in Final Tail’s directory — currently Texas with 72, California with 67 and Ohio with 51. Because research coverage differs by state, a directory count is not a market count, and no per-capita or market-share figure is derived from it.

How to read the table

Provider counts across all 50 indexed states sum to 909, the whole directory. Cities counts the distinct city pages built from providers’ own structured city values. The two pricing columns use the same partition as Exhibit 1, so a state’s pricing counts can never exceed its provider count.

These are counts in Final Tail’s directory, not estimates of total market size.

Full state coverage of Final Tail’s US pet aftercare directory: 909 providers across 50 states, last checked 17–30 July 2026. Counts are listings in this directory, not estimates of the number of providers operating in each state. No ranking, population or per-capita figure is included.
StateProvidersCitiesAny pricing signalStarting price
Texas7256129
California675344
Ohio514054
North Carolina413553
Florida382986
Pennsylvania383622
Illinois322755
Michigan322965
New York322843
Georgia302644
Arizona241544
Tennessee242243
Washington221911
Maryland211722
Virginia211833
Colorado201332
Missouri201544
Kentucky191432
Minnesota191863
Oregon171111
South Carolina171454
Utah161144
Wisconsin161043
Indiana151244
Oklahoma151322
Nevada13585
Arkansas121233
West Virginia121221
Alabama11931
Iowa111143
New Jersey111122
Montana10922
Connecticut9933
Idaho9711
New Mexico9733
Louisiana8753
Kansas7732
Maine7721
New Hampshire7722
Wyoming7633
Hawaii6643
Massachusetts6611
Delaware5433
Mississippi5533
Nebraska5211
North Dakota5443
South Dakota5511
Alaska4311
Rhode Island4411
Vermont2211
District of Columbia0000
Total909748171140

District of Columbia has no provider currently indexed in Final Tail’s directory, which is a statement about this dataset and not about the jurisdiction. Each state name links to its provider page where one exists.

Exhibit 6 · Provider models

The business models behind the listings

Provider type as described by the business or classified from its published service model. These are editorial groupings of self-described labels, not a controlled industry taxonomy.

Exhibit 6

Provider model mix

Every provider grouped into exactly one model by ordered classification rules.

Pet crematory69% · 56 self-described labels629
Pet cemetery and crematory12% · 23 self-described labels113
Aquamation-led provider7% · 12 self-described labels65
Funeral home or mortuary affiliated7% · 27 self-described labels65
Crematory and aquamation3% · 8 self-described labels23
Mobile or pickup-led service1% · 11 self-described labels12
Other0% · 2 self-described labels2

Final Tail US provider dataset · n = 909 providers in Final Tail's directory · last checked 17–30 July 2026. Counts are what providers publish on their own websites; an absent value is never counted as a No. Rolled up from 139 distinct self-described provider-type labels. Rules are ordered, so each label matches exactly one group.

How the grouping works

  1. 1. Cemetery or burial — the label names a cemetery, burial or memorial garden. A resting-place service is the most distinguishing part of a provider’s model, so it is tested first.
  2. 2. Funeral home or mortuary — a pet crematory operated by, or inside, a funeral home or mortuary.
  3. 3. Mobile or pickup-led — the label names a mobile service, pickup or a collection service.
  4. 4 and 5. Aquamation — the label names aquamation or water cremation, split by whether it also names flame cremation.
  5. 6. Pet crematory — everything else naming cremation.
  6. 7. Other — anything the rules cannot classify, kept as a visible group rather than forced into a misleading label.

The limits are real. Labels are self-described and inconsistent, so a provider that offers burial but never says so on its website is grouped as a crematory. Many providers span more than one model; the rules pick a single primary reading, and the confirmed-segment counts below are the better guide to what a provider actually confirms.

Confirmed segments

Specialist services we can confirm

Each count below is a floor, not an availability rate: it is the number of providers whose own published data confirms the service. More almost certainly offer it without saying so, which is why none of these counts is divided by the directory total.

Final Tail has confirmed these counts from providers’ own structured data, and each card links to the live directory that lists exactly those providers. Treat every figure as a floor: a provider missing from a segment has not told us it lacks the service.

Integrity

What this dataset does not tell us

The most useful part of a research report is usually the part that says where it stops. These are the claims this dataset cannot support, and which therefore appear nowhere above.

Unknown does not mean no

Most service fields record a positive signal only. A blank field may mean the provider does not offer the service, may mean it is not stated on their website, or may mean it was not captured. It is never evidence of absence.

Service fields are capture-dependent

How often a field is stated varies with how deeply a record was researched, not only with what providers offer. The confidence exhibit below shows exactly how large that effect is in this dataset.

This directory is not a census

The dataset is a first-party research sample of the US market, not a complete register of it. No count here should be read as the number of providers that exist in a state or nationally.

No population adjustment

The report carries no population data, no providers-per-capita figure and no market share. Coverage in a state reflects Final Tail's research as much as the state itself.

Starting prices are not full quotes

A published starting price is a floor. It usually reflects the smallest pet or the communal option, before pet size, pickup, urns or memorial products. Two providers can publish a similar figure and bill very differently.

Provider terminology is inconsistent

Private, individual, partitioned and semi-private are used differently by different providers, and provider-type labels are self-described. The groupings in this report are editorial roll-ups, not a controlled industry taxonomy.

Some fields are too thin to analyze

Bird, reptile, witnessed-cremation, urn-inclusion and emergency-availability fields carry too little captured data in this dataset to support any finding, so none is reported rather than reported weakly.

No prevalence claims, no state rankings

The report publishes no service-availability rate, no average US pet cremation cost and no ranking of states. Each would require data this dataset does not contain.

Exhibit 7 · Confidence and capture bias

The computed evidence for publishing no prevalence rates

Records are graded for research confidence — how complete Final Tail's captured information is, never a judgment on a provider's service. Split the dataset by that grade and the same field is stated at very different rates.

Exhibit 7

Disclosure rate by research confidence

Share of records in each confidence tier that publicly state the field.

Share of High-confidence and Medium-confidence records that publicly state each field, with the gap in percentage points
FieldHighMediumGap
Private or individual cremation88%40%+48 pts
Communal cremation59%22%+37 pts
Ashes returned90%40%+50 pts
Home pickup52%21%+31 pts
Veterinarian pickup47%15%+32 pts
Memorial products92%61%+31 pts

Final Tail US provider dataset · Medium n = 460, High n = 449. These are capture rates — how often a field was recorded — not availability rates.

Why does this report publish no service-availability percentages?

Because the numbers would measure research depth, not the market. Across every field above, High-confidence records state the service far more often than Medium-confidence ones — the gap runs from 31 to 50 percentage points. Providers did not change between batches; the depth of the capture did. Any single percentage drawn from the whole dataset would blend those two things together.

Confidence tiers in this dataset

Medium confidence
460 records (51%)
High confidence
449 records (49%)

Confidence describes how complete and how well sourced Final Tail’s captured information is for a listing. It is not a rating of the provider, its facilities or the care it gives.

Sources and freshness

  • 909 of 909 records carry at least one first-party source URL.
  • Source counts per record: 549 with 1, 102 with 2, 102 with 3, 70 with 4, 56 with 5, 14 with 6, 1 with 7, 15 with 8.
  • Capture dates: 66 on 2026-07-17, 399 on 2026-07-18, 83 on 2026-07-19, 14 on 2026-07-26, 234 on 2026-07-27, 109 on 2026-07-29, 4 on 2026-07-30.
  • Contactability: 909 with a website, 890 with a phone number, 483 with a public email address.

What to ask

Nine questions worth asking a provider

If most providers do not publish the answers, the practical response is to ask for them. Work through these on a call, and ask for the price in writing before you agree to anything.

What should families ask before booking a pet cremation?

Confirm whether the cremation is private or communal and whether your pet is alone in the chamber, how your pet is identified and tracked, whether you receive your own pet’s ashes and how they are returned, how long the process takes, whether pickup from home or your veterinarian is included, exactly what the price covers, and whether an urn is included or separate.

0/9

Questions

About this report

What the dataset is, what it can support and what it cannot. For questions about pet cremation itself, the US questions hub goes much deeper.

Is this a complete list of US pet aftercare providers?

No. This report describes the 909 providers in Final Tail's US directory, indexed across 50 states. It is a research dataset built from first-party provider websites, not a census of the US market, and it carries no estimate of how many providers exist in total. Counts here are counts in Final Tail's directory.

Does missing information mean a provider does not offer a service?

No. Unknown does not mean no. Most service fields in this dataset are positive-signal capture fields: a positive value means Final Tail found published evidence on the provider's own website. An absent value may mean the provider does not offer it, may mean the provider does not state it publicly, or may mean it was not captured in that research batch. That is why the report publishes no service-availability percentages.

Are the published starting prices directly comparable?

No. The 140 published starting prices in this report, from $20 to $470 with a median of $115, are figures each provider chose to publish on its own website. Inclusions differ by pet size, cremation type, pickup and memorial products, so they are not like-for-like quotes. This report does not publish an average US pet cremation cost, because the sample would not support one.

Why does the report not rank states?

Because a directory count is not a market size. The number of providers Final Tail has indexed in a state reflects research coverage as much as the state itself, so calling one state better, worse or cheaper than another would read a research artifact as a fact about the market. The state table is a coverage table, ordered by provider count for readability only, with no rank, no per-capita figure and no market share.

How was the information checked?

Every listing was reviewed against the provider's own website, and each of the 909 records carries at least one first-party source URL. 909 have a website, 890 a phone number and 483 a public email address. Records are graded for research confidence: 460 Medium, 449 High. Confidence describes how complete Final Tail's captured information is, not the quality of a provider's service.

How often will this report be updated?

The report is regenerated from the live dataset on every site build, so the figures move as the directory is re-checked and extended. The current listings were last checked 17–30 July 2026. Provider details, services and pricing change, so confirm current details directly with the provider.

Methodology

How this report was built

The report is deterministic: every figure is computed at build time from Final Tail's US provider dataset with the same predicates that power the US directory, so the report and the directory can never disagree.

Method in detail

Inclusion criteria
Every provider in Final Tail's published US directory: a United States record, marked for publication, with a unique slug, a known state and city, and at least one first-party source URL. All 909 qualifying records are included — nothing is excluded to improve a figure.
Source type
First-party provider websites. Each listing was reviewed against the provider's own site and pricing pages. No review scores, ratings, directories or social data feed any figure in this report.
Capture dates
Listings were last checked 17–30 July 2026: 66 on 2026-07-17, 399 on 2026-07-18, 83 on 2026-07-19, 14 on 2026-07-26, 234 on 2026-07-27, 109 on 2026-07-29, 4 on 2026-07-30.
Pricing-signal definitions
Four mutually exclusive categories, applied in order: a structured starting price; failing that, meaningful pricing notes; failing that, a pricing-page link; otherwise no discoverable pricing signal. Every provider lands in exactly one, and the four sum to 909.
Starting-price sample
The 140 providers whose published starting price parses to a number, across 50 states. Quartiles use the nearest-rank lower convention, so each figure shown is a price a provider actually published. No mean is calculated.
Field handling
Service fields are read as positive signals only. A field counts as stated when the provider's own data records a yes or a no; anything else is the residual, reported as not stated.
Unknown-value treatment
Unknown does not mean no. A blank field is never counted as an absence of service, never charted as a negative, and never used as a denominator for an availability rate.
Confidence categories
Medium (460), High (449). Confidence grades how complete Final Tail's captured information is for a listing — it is not a rating of the provider or its service.
UK comparison method
One measure only: the share of providers with a structured published starting price, computed with identical logic over each country's published Final Tail dataset (US n = 909, UK n = 218). Neither dataset is a national census, and no prices, services or quality measures are compared.
State-table method
Providers are matched to a state by their own structured two-letter state code, exactly as the directory filter does. Cities count the distinct city pages built from providers' own structured city values. Counts sum to the directory total; no population, per-capita or market-share figure is derived.
Provider-type grouping
Ordered classification rules roll 139 distinct self-described labels into 7 editorial groups, first match wins. The rules are unit-tested, and an "Other" group exists so an unclassifiable label is never forced into a misleading one.
Limitations
Set out in full in the integrity section above: capture dependence, no census, no population adjustment, starting prices are not quotes, inconsistent terminology, and fields too thin to analyze.
Update policy
The report is regenerated from the live dataset on every build, so figures move as listings are re-checked and the directory grows. There is no separate frozen copy to drift out of date.
Out of bounds
No market-size estimate, no per-capita coverage, no market share, no state ranking, no service-availability rate, no average US pet cremation cost, and no claim that Final Tail has inspected any facility.

Counts reflect the dataset as last checked in July 2026. Services, pricing and availability change, and the absence of a signal does not mean a provider does not offer a service — only that it was not found published. Explore the underlying listings in the US provider directory or read the US questions hub.

For media and researchers

How to cite this report

Free to reference and screenshot with attribution. For corrections, provider updates or media enquiries, get in touch and we will respond.

Suggested citation

Final Tail (July 2026). The State of Pet Aftercare in the US (2026). Based on Final Tail’s research dataset of 909 US pet aftercare providers, last checked 17–30 July 2026. https://www.finaltail.com/us/state-of-pet-aftercare-2026/

Please link to the report where possible so readers can see the methodology and the limitations, and describe the figures as counts in Final Tail’s directory rather than as US market totals.

Report notes

Report
The State of Pet Aftercare in the US (2026)
Organisation
Final Tail
Geography
United States
Dataset
909 US providers, 50 states
Method
First-party provider website review
Last updated
July 2026
Listings last checked
17–30 July 2026

No survey claims, market-size figures, review scores or rankings are used. Findings describe the providers in Final Tail’s US directory only, and Final Tail has not inspected any provider facility.

Make a calm, informed choice

Compare US providers with the facts in front of you

Browse pet cremation and aftercare providers across the United States, filter by the options that matter to you, then ask each provider for a written, itemized price.

Final Tail is an independent directory, not a veterinary provider. This report is general information only. If a pet is in distress or needs urgent care, contact a veterinarian or emergency veterinarian immediately. Provider details, services and pricing may change, so confirm directly with the provider before making arrangements.

Final Tail is an independent directory of pet cremation and aftercare providers across the United States. We collect provider details from public listings, provider websites and information shared with us. Services, availability and pricing may change, so please confirm directly with the provider before making arrangements.